top of page
Search
  • jholmes1999

Take That First Step (Walker's Song)

Walker Holmes Teague turns four today. How can that be possible?


I wrote this song a couple of years ago after he was born and just recently finished it.


Every song has a genesis...something that starts the creative process flowing. For "Take That First Step" it was the fact that we thought Walker might never walk. Ever. Not kidding.


Not that he couldn't walk...he just wouldn't. He'd think about it for a second or to...and then plop to the floor and crawl over to whatever it was he wanted. Guess it was just easier that way. :)


When he finally did wobble his way across the room, I couldn't help but remember his mom taking her first steps at a little restaurant between Addison and Double Springs.


I started thinking about "all" those first steps we take in life. The uncertainty of first venturing out on those wobbly knees...walking across that graduation stage not sure of what the next morning will bring...standing there ready to walk down the aisle and meet your spouse...turning loose of that church pew...


I hope that one day Walker will hear this and know that Dad...and Mom...and Buddy...and Sugar...and Papa...and Mimi and all the rest of us were there for him every step of the way. Maybe not always physically...but always in spirit and heart.


Hope you enjoy it. My thanks to David Vest (production, drums and bass); Austin Jones (acoustic and rhythm guitar); Tre Butler (BGVs).



Lyrics:

Verse One:

I can tell your nervous, I can see it in your eyes.

A little boy with your back against the wall.

Your legs are wobbly, your knees are kind of weak.

Seems like yesterday you learned to crawl.

There’s no hurry, I’m not going anywhere.

When you’re ready, just reach out and I’ll be there…


Chorus

Go on, take that first step.

You don’t have to be afraid.

Take that first step. It’s just a leap of faith.

I’ll be with you through it all.

You know I’ll catch you if you fall.

Take that first step.


VERSE 2

I can tell your nervous, I can see it in your eyes.

Standing here, its graduation day.

Tomorrow morning, a whole new world awaits.

But first you’ve got to walk across that stage.

First a job, and then a wife and family, (Alt: A whole new world awaits, out there on your own)

Every morning, I hope that you can hear me say. (Just remember that you’ll never walk alone)


Chorus


Bridge

I still remember, that night 10 years ago.

A little church just down the way.

You felt the Spirit move…but just couldn’t let go.

Til you heard Him softly say…


Chorus

Go on, take that first step.

You don’t have to be afraid.

Take that first step. It’s just a leap of faith.

I’ll be with you through it all.

You know I’ll catch you if you fall…


Take that first step.

You don’t have to be afraid.

Take that first step. It’s just a leap of faith.

I’ll be with you through it all.

You know I’ll catch you if you fall.

Take that first step.

Take that first step.

Take that first step.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page